2 to 28 Murray Street, Singapore 079519
Chinatown, Tanjong Pagar MRT Station
Built in 1929, this Art Deco streetblock has exposed brickwork and unique lion head rain spouts. In 1977, instead of urban renewal through demolition and rebuilding, the Urban Redevelopment Authority pioneered the rehabilitation of the then State owned property for adaptive reuse. Along with other rehabilitation projects at Tudor Court and Emerald Hill, these buildings were the forerunners of Singapore’s conservation programme that was to start in 1989.