Fuk Tak Chi Museum 福德祠
76 Telok Ayer Street, Singapore 048464
Children : FreeAdult : Free
Telok Ayer MRT Station
Set up between 1820 and 1824 by Cantonese and Hakka immigrants, the shrine dedicated to the Chinese deity, Tua Pek Kong, was where many Chinese immigrants gave thanks for their safe journey to Singapore. As donations poured in, the temple was built in brick in 1825. The temple later became the headquarters for the Cantonese and Hakka communities, even functioning as a welfare association where disputes were settled.
To preserve the building’s colourful history, it was handed over to the government in 1990. Craftsmen from China and Malaysia restored it completely, giving it new lease on life as a museum in 1998. The Fuk Tak Chi Museum is now part of a charming boutique hotel’s premises. While progress has caught up, the museum hasn’t given up the ghost. If you’re in the vicinity of Far East Square, this quaint building is worth a visit. Step over its well-preserved threshold, and the hustle-and-bustle of office life disappears, making it a nice spot for quiet contemplation amid the area’s shophouses and office buildings.